top of page

Like Children

I love being an aunt. It happens to be one of my absolute favorite titles as a human; and I am EXTREMELY fortunate, because I happen to be an aunt to 8 beautiful children! :) This week, I got to spend some quality time with one of those beautiful children: my niece. She's four years old, rambunctious, sassy, confident, energetic, imaginative, and she knows exactly what she wants. (Most of the time, she knows exactly how to get what she wants too!)

I know that God has been at work in our time together, because I have been trying to work on two things lately: my patience, and receiving God's love. Anyone who's been around a 4 year old (or most children for that matter) knows that it requires a lot of patience and flexibility. My niece always want to play, and often times her games make no sense, so I've gotta role with it. She has a lot of needs, and an even more intense number of wants. But above all of that, she is completely dependent upon other people and embraces it. She is the perfect embodiment of constant receptive love.

I've often noticed this about children, and that is one of the traits I admire most about them. Just yesterday for example, my niece stood right in front of the door, knowing that I would open it for her. She didn't even reach for the handle, just simply stood and waited. Just thinking about it makes me smile! Later that same day, my dad asked, "Do you know that I love you?" and she said with pride, "YES! I know! I knew that already!". I couldn't help but log that away in my brain... Why don't I approach God with that kind of confidence? Why do I wonder if He'll answer me in prayer, instead of standing at the door awaiting Him to open it. Why do I not proclaim to Him, "YES! I know You love me! I knew that already!" ?

I have a hard time being childlike instead of childish. I don't want to be selfish, quick tempered, unordered, impatient, or undisciplined. I want to speak with directness and clarity to God. I want to live simply. I want to have an innocent and pure heart. I want to be unworldly, trusting, selfless, unsuspicious of others, and confident in the love of my Father.

Through this Lent, I have forgotten those things a bit. I've been distracted and have overcomplicated my spiritual life. But one of my favorite parts about being Catholic is the sacrament of confession. There, I can go ask God for His forgiveness and for the grace to overcome my defects. I can receive the love and healing I need from the Divine Physician. I can start anew and strive to be childlike starting with today.

As we move through this week, let's bring a childlike attitude to the suffering of others. Everyone is sick from something: mentally, physically, spiritually, or emotionally. People carry burdens of every sort with them wherever they go (I don't know if you've noticed, but our lives typically don't reflect our Instagram.). So let's be more attentive to the subtleties of our human nature. Let's go out of our way to love others and meet "the sick" where they are. Let's be like children.

Corporal Work of Mercy: Visit the sick.

  • Intentionally smile more today. You never know what it will bring to the people who surround you!

  • Volunteer at a hospital.

  • Give blood.

  • Talk to someone you haven't met. Actually get to know them if you can, and if you're able, ask how you can pray for them. (If it doesn't come up naturally, just pray for them by name and ask God to be with them in what they need most.)

  • Offer to assist caregivers of chronically sick family members on a one-time or periodic basis. Give caregivers time off from their caregiving responsibilities so they can rest, complete personal chores, or enjoy a relaxing break.

  • Send flowers or a card to someone you know who is in the hospital or nursing home.

  • Next time you make a meal that can be easily frozen, make a double batch and give it to a family in your parish who has a sick loved one.

  • Offer a mass or a rosary for someone you know who might be sick or suffering.

  • Pass it forward, buy someone's coffee for them, fast food lunch, or snack.

  • Leave a note of encouragement somewhere where you know it will be found.

  • Spend time with the elderly in your community. Get lunch with them, or play a card game, do a puzzle, or simply watch their favorite show with them. The elderly need quality time too!

Spiritual Work of Mercy: Forgive offenses willingly.

  • Take a few minutes to pray with God about who you can forgive. Ask Him to help you to love that person, and take a moment to pray intentionally for them.

  • Go to Confession this week, think about the immense Mercy and Love that God has for you.

  • Work on forgiving yourself. It can be hard to struggle the same way each week, each month, or even each year. Ask God for the grace to have patience with yourself, He never runs out. :)

  • Pray a Divine Mercy Chaplet.

  • Try to strike up a conversation with a student, coworker, neighbor who annoys you. Try to find some common ground and get to know them, instead of avoiding them.

  • Call your siblings and/or your parents this week. They walk with us through our rough patches and love us even at our worst. Show them some love.

bottom of page